“What Do a Bunch of Drunk Canadians do on a Winter’s Day When Not Skiing?”

29 Jul

How many under slept, half drunk dudes in their mid 20’s does it take to build a ridiculous snow igloo? Give up? Seven to be exact.

Vermont 044

It wasn’t the easiest task the group of us had taken on, but we were dedicated and we had enough beer to get us through the day (and somehow through the night as well). To this day, what we did still amazes me.

It was President’s Day weekend, 2009. What a weekend it was! I don’t know how or why I was so content on making sure this trip happened, but I guess subconsciously I knew it was destined to be a great one. As we discussed the possibility of having a rager at some ridiculous house in Vermont I remember telling everyone that we “had to make an igloo to drink in!!!” Surprisingly, everyone was down with the idea and didn’t look at me like I was retarded (which happens quite often).

I could tell a story about each night, or even the weekend in general, but I think that would be a 400 page novel. I’ll save you the brain span and keep it to this day only. Boy was that a beautiful day – The whole group consisted of 18 degenerates. Some worse than others obviously. If my fried ball of mush in my skull brain remembers correctly, there were 13 or 14 of us who stayed behind to be idiots. Or geniuses; you decide. Instead of hitting the mountain three days in a row we stayed around the house, drinking all day and just enjoying an amazing winter afternoon. Some enjoyed it more than others (lazy suckers who did nothing)

Vermont 038

At first we couldn’t conceptualize the design. All the white kids were fumbling around with a piece of ply wood, shot gunning and mailmaning beers on it. Vermont 041

And then to procrastinate more, after we were already all sorts of fucked up we decided that the ply wood would better used as a battering ram than a door for the igloo. Fucking idiots, I know. Then it dawned on us. We knew we brought an Asian kid for a reason. The same Asian kid that used to make bongs out of watermelons…. It was written in his DNA, what can I say? Cheong, being the mad scientist he is, figured out that since the snow was too hard to make into boulders that we should use the big red shovel to cut actual ice blocks and stack them (Yeah like an actual igloo is supposed to be made. I already told you were slamming beers all day so fuck off).

Vermont 036

So after a long time coming, the igloo was on its way and believe me when I tell you, it was glorious. Ancient Greek architects would have been proud of this thing. Frank Lloyd Wright could learn a thing or two from us to be honest. I’m an idiot, I know. But in all seriousness, this thing was so cool. As the foundation was set we then grabbed the tarps off the truck, found a broken tree for support and put the roof on. It was truly an amazing site. I mean this “building was tall enough that we could all stand without bending over. There was a row of benches around the entire structure, and, the best part was the fire pit we built on the outside, which for some reason I do not have an image of. I don’t know if it was the adrenaline, or the drunkenness, but most of us stayed outside for a good 10 hours just enjoying nature. Thanks to all who came and made it an amazing weekend that we will never forget. Until next year.

Vermont 053

Vermont 056

If you have ever gone above and beyond an done anything like this please share it with the viewers. I may need some nee

22 Responses to ““What Do a Bunch of Drunk Canadians do on a Winter’s Day When Not Skiing?””

  1. marnie flotgruss 02/16/2013 at 8:20 PM #

    I have just crashed through your atmosphere. A loud bang was heard in Russia. The entire forest was destroyed. I do not come in peace. I am here to start interplanetary war. Obey me and you will be spared. Resist and I will destroy your planet. Gaut, Klaatu barada neck tie. ZZZZZZZZZ! Darn, I meant nectu. Gamut, you’re a schmuck. ZZZZZZZZZ! Ooh, he’s gone crazy. Gaut, bologne bop!

  2. Tabetha 07/19/2012 at 1:03 PM #

    What is going on here? I have never seen a site like this. Be more vigilant. I like the photos and the accompanying testimonials.

  3. Francois 07/09/2012 at 5:47 PM #

    Win $0.00 Place $0.00 $0.00 Show $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 Exacta $0.00 Trifecta $0.00

  4. christian 07/09/2012 at 6:15 AM #

    That gut in the first picture (center front) looks french. Or he needs a shave.

  5. youlnowwboiam 07/07/2012 at 5:57 AM #

    Was that movie “MISERY” set in Canada? If so don’t write any books there. Annie Wilkes might be outside just waiting for you. She’ll be your number one fan if you crash in the snow. Then she’ll go a bit psycho and call you a dirty birdie and smash your ankles with a sledge hammer … look out!

  6. ELIZABETH R 07/06/2012 at 5:26 AM #

    Hello my loyal Canadian subjects, as your Queen I would like to inform you that my husband and I are both terribly chuffed at the moment. I, myself am looking forward to the London Olympics for there shall be the most spunky, sexy and “Jimmy jubly” Canadian subjects. At the moment I am. digesting a box of chocolates that Phil gave me. The last box was laced with Epsom salts but he does like his little jokes. A Corgi just just peed on my leg so it’s goodbye from the royal toilet for now. ER.

  7. The FREAK 07/06/2012 at 2:51 AM #

    My name is the freak. I am a guard at Wentworth Detention Centre for women. Just the other day I put Lizzy Birdsworth’s hair in a meat grinder to get some extra protein to build up my pec muscles. On Saturday I noticed Bee Smith wasn’t paying attention do I put her head in the steam press and baked her cheeks. Those pancakes were more protein. I intend to take a trip to Canada soon to check up on the dike scene. Lookout.

  8. slotka 07/05/2012 at 10:13 AM #

    To be rememberink darlinks ythis is the yfirst day of the yrest of your ice.

  9. shitdick 07/02/2012 at 4:08 PM #

    Get a fucking life snowballs

  10. trevor 07/02/2012 at 3:44 PM #

    THIS SITE IS BEING RUN BY PEOPLE WBO SAY THEY WONT PUBLISH YOUR DETAILS BUT DO. LOG ON TO RYAN’S BLOG:CLAUDE CAT FOR SOME HONEST INTEGRITY.

  11. trevor 07/02/2012 at 12:49 PM #

    Samantha-what are you doing get drunk and running wild. O ly arose Stewart encourages young hearts to do that-but in a drunken stupor I can’t see any future for you dear. Dunno what’s a happening in Ruskli but I hope the pumpkins are wild and free. Trev.

    • shitdick 07/02/2012 at 3:53 PM #

      Babah b bushka

      • samantha slotka 07/06/2012 at 5:39 AM #

        Darlink-vhat can I say. Nyext time I go to boudoir capitalistic syamarerket vant you to be there. To geth er ve making musiks and I put yon James Last-games that lovers y play. Darlink!

  12. samantha slotka 06/30/2012 at 6:48 AM #

    Oh darlinks-since I got here from Russia I am too impressed with the boudoir capitalistic system. Today I vent to capitalist supermarket to buy a pumpkin but y’I he’d a pinic watack and had pissed my undies. Lucky my Lada vaz nyear the door. I vill settle for yvoda on the yrocks and Valium chaser. SS.

  13. samantha slotka 06/28/2012 at 9:35 AM #

    Nice pics. All that snow. I’ve been angry lately so the winter wonderland scenes chills me out.

  14. ttevor john grant 06/27/2012 at 11:16 AM #

    No, I haven’t done anything like that but when it snows in Alice Springs (that Dingo’s got my baby) I’ll let you know. BUT the other night I was watching a really good film from Canada called C.R.A.Z.Y. Lots ofll Patsy Cline songs. My snail mail address is:Trevor Grant 9 Cheshire Avenue Melton South Victoria 3338 Australia. I’lll do my best to answer-what ever interests or bothers you.

  15. ttevor john grant 06/27/2012 at 6:14 AM #

    I agree. Too many chiefs & not buff engines runnin’ this old house.. Don’t let that icycle get ya down. Go Canadians go-you’re the B E S T.

  16. ttevor john grant 06/27/2012 at 5:40 AM #

    Sorry for the no address email. I don’t like salty Spam too much. Listen, you have a chance to get out of the shit hole. Don’t rely on ythe neighbors too much-they’de offer help to an orphan. TOGETHER we can do something. I am in Australia. If you can bypass all the international codes my personal cell number is 0426 244 206. I like Canadian people, they’re. O K.

  17. YES 07/31/2009 at 7:28 PM #

    LBH ,
    Look at that fucking thing.
    my sister and her 2 lesbian lovers could build a fucking better fort then that.
    Presidents Day = worst holiday ever

    Stick to your day jobs.

    • ttevor john grant 06/27/2012 at 8:32 AM #

      Hey LBH. U got attitude but we ain’t seen it since 2 0 0 9. I’m not Canadian but Aussie-that place champion racehorse BLACK CAVIAR comes from. The jockey is from Uranus and N e e e h h g g is from Mars. Let’s hear more from you before soundin’ off and makin’ the fool.

  18. YES 07/29/2009 at 7:47 PM #

    that is the most budget igloo ever
    seriously
    step your game up guys.

    • Aceezee 07/30/2009 at 6:03 AM #

      eat 20 dicks

Leave a Reply

